Citizens' Agora on Just Transition

 What conditions must the ecological transition meet to be just?

 Federal Institute for Sustainable Development (FISD)

Citizens panel

 

Sortition

 
 Federal  Face-to-face

In the framework of the General Estates for a Just Transition, we were mandated by the Federal Institute for Sustainable Development (FISD) to coordinate, organize, and facilitate the Citizen Agora on Just Transition. 

The aim of the Citizen Agora was to place citizens at the center of deliberation and to hear their grassroots realities, addressing the question “What conditions must the ecological transition meet to be just?”. For this purpose, we gathered 65 citizens, aged at least 16, from across Belgium, representing the diversity of the population, during 4 weekends in Brussels, Ghent, Charleroi, and Verviers, at emblematic locations of past transitions or the ongoing transition.

The uniqueness of this process lay in its inclusive approach, with particular attention given to the most vulnerable individuals, including those living in precarious situations or with disabilities. The goal of citizen involvement, especially for more vulnerable groups, was to place them at the heart of discussions, democratizing the debate around just transition by highlighting on-the-ground realities as well as daily difficulties and needs. Thanks to a recruitment process through stratified random selection, a wide diversity of Belgian citizens was able to interact and debate among themselves and with experts on the topic in order to formulate concrete recommendations.

24 conditions and 47 recommendations emerged from this process. These recommendations were presented to the minister and the Federal Institute for Sustainable Development during a closing day held at the Senate.

More information: https://www.justtransition.be/en

Discussion group in Brussels during the first weekend of the Citizens' Agora on Just Transition.

Discussion group in Ghent during the second weekend of the Citizens' Agora on Just Transition.

Bird’s-eye view of the different discussion groups in Charleroi during the third weekend of the Citizens' Agora on Just Transition.

Discussion group in Dison during the last weekend of the Citizens' Agora on Just Transition.


← Our projects

L’Agora citoyenne sur la Transition Juste

 À quelles conditions la transition écologique doit-elle répondre pour être juste ?

 Institut fédéral pour le Développement durable (IFDD)

Panel citoyen

 

Tirage au sort

 
 Fédéral  Présentiel

Dans le cadre des États Généraux sur la Transition Juste, nous avons été mandatés par l’Institut fédéral pour le Développement durable (IFDD) afin de coordonner, organiser et faciliter l’Agora citoyenne pour une transition juste.

L’Agora citoyenne avait pour objectif de mettre les citoyens au cœur de la délibération, et d’entendre leurs réalités de terrain, en répondant à la question “À quelles conditions la transition écologique doit-elle répondre pour être juste ?”. Pour cela, nous avons rassemblé 65 citoyennes et citoyens, âgés d’au moins 16 ans, issus de tout le territoire belge et représentant au mieux la diversité de la population, durant 4 week-ends, à Bruxelles, à Gand, à Charleroi et à Verviers, dans des lieux emblématiques de transitions passées ou de la transition en cours. 

La particularité de ce processus résidait dans son approche inclusive, une attention particulière a été accordée aux personnes les plus vulnérables, notamment avec des personnes vivant en situation de précarité ou porteuses d’un handicap. L’implication citoyenne, en particulier de publics plus vulnérables, avait pour objectif de les mettre au cœur des discussions, de démocratiser le débat autour de la transition juste en faisant ressortir les réalités de terrain ainsi que les difficultés et besoins rencontrés au quotidien. Grâce à un recrutement par tirage au sort stratifié, une grande diversité de citoyen belge a pu interagir et débattre entre eux et des experts de la thématique afin de formuler des recommandations concrètes. 

24 conditions et 47 recommandations sont ressorties de ce processus. Celles-ci ont été présentées à la ministre compétente et à l’Institut Fédéral du Développement Durable lors d’une journée de clôture se tenant au Sénat.

Plus d’information : https://www.justtransition.be/fr 

Groupe de discussion à Bruxelles lors du premier week-end de l’Agora Citoyenne sur la Transition Juste

Groupe de discussion à Gand lors du second week-end de l’Agora Citoyenne sur la Transition Juste

Vue de haut des différents groupe de discussion à Charelroi lors du troisième week-end de l’Agora Citoyenne sur la Transition Juste

Groupe de discussion à Dison lors du quatrième week-end de l’Agora Citoyenne sur la Transition Juste


← Nos projets